Redizajn oficijelne stranice u toku! Print E-mail

u toku je redizajn oficijelne web-stranice Ureda Vijeća/Savjeta Evrope u Sarajevu.

S navedenim u vezi, za najnovije vijesti i informacije posjetite našu oficijelnu facebook stranicu:

Hvala na razumijevanju,

CoE team Sarajevo
Prezentacija Print E-mail

Prezentacija - BOSANSKI

Presentation - ENGLISH

The general Council of Europe exhibition kit - BOSANSKI

The general Council of Europe exhibition kit - ENGLISH

Predstavnici BiH u organima Vijeća Evrope Print E-mail

Komitet ministara: Ministar vanjskih poslova Zlatko Lagumdžija predstavlja BiH u Komitetu ministara VE.

Stalno Predstavništvo BiH u Vijeću Evrope

Zdenko MARTINOVIĆ, ambasador BiH
Mirsa MUHAREMAGIĆ, Chargée d’affaires u Vijeću Evrope, Strasbourg od decembra 2008.

Council of Europe Objectives Print E-mail

The Council was set up to:

  • defend human rights, parliamentary democracy and the rule of law,
  • develop continent-wide agreements to standardise member countrie's social and legal practices,
  • promote awareness of a European identity based on shared values and cutting across different cultures.

Since 1989, its main job has become:

  • acting as a political anchor and human rights watchdog for Europe's post-communist democracies,
  • assisting the countries of central and eastern Europe in carrying out and consolidating political, legal and constitutional reform in parallel with economic reform,
  • providing know -how in areas such as human rights, local democracy, education, culture and the environment.
Origins and Membership Print E-mail

The Council of Europe is the continent's oldest political organisation, founded in 1949. It:

  • groups together 47 countries, including 22 countries from Central and Eastern Europe,
  • has application from 1 more country (Bélarus),
  • has granted observer status to 5 more countries (the Holy See, the United States, Canada, Japan and Mexico),
  • is distinct from the 27-nation European Union, but no country has ever joined the Union without first belonging to the Council of Europe,
  • has its headquarters in Strasbourg, in north-eastern France
How it works Print E-mail
  • the Committee of Ministers, composed of the 47 Foreign ministers or their Strasbourg-based deputies(ambassadors/permanent representatives), which is the Organisation's decision-making body
  • the Parliamentary Assembly, grouping 636 members (318 representatives and 318 substitutes) from the 47 national parliaments. The current President is Mevlut Cavasoglu (AK Party, Turkey)
  • the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, composed of a Chamber of Local Authorities and a Chamber of Regions. Its current President is Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG) – President of the Congress; Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) – President of the Chamber of Local Authorities; Herwig Van taa (Austria, EPP/CD) – President of the Chamber of Regions
  • the 1800-strong secretariat headed since September 2004 by Secretary General Thorbjorn Jagland (Labour Party, Norway).


  • Bosanski/Hrvatski/Srpski
  • English

Document database

Photo expo - Sarajevo

Click for more info

© 2014 CoE Field Office Sarajevo